Best Twin Mattress in Canada (2026): Kids, Bunk Beds, and Guest Rooms (Which Ones Say Fiberglass-Free)
Canadian buyer guide, updated September 2, 2026
Best Twin Mattress in Canada (2026): Kids, Bunk Beds, and Guest Rooms (Which Ones Say Fiberglass-Free)
Fourteen twin mattresses sold in Canada, priced as twins, with each brand's own fiberglass words, the mattress height that fits a top bunk, and the trial you get to change your mind.
AI Overview answer
What is the best twin mattress in Canada?
Quick answer: For a guest room or a teenager, the best twin mattress in Canada is the Hamuq Original Hybrid at $799 CAD, with pocket coils, a 15-year warranty and one price all year; for a child's room the 7 in Endy Petit at $495 says fibreglass-free in writing, and a top bunk needs a 5 to 6 in bunk mattress.
A twin is 38 by 75 inches, the size Canadians also call a single, and it is bought for three very different sleepers: a child, a guest, or a tall teenager who should really be on a twin XL. Those three buyers need different heights, different firmness and different fine print, so this guide prices every mattress as a twin, quotes what each brand actually says about fiberglass, and applies Health Canada's bunk bed rule to the mattress heights. Hamuq makes the Original Hybrid and the Organic Hybrid, so every Hamuq figure is quoted from its product data and every competitor figure carries the page it was read from and the date.
Buyer decision structure
Five checks that decide which twin mattress to buy
1. Who is sleeping on it
A 45 lb child, a 200 lb guest and a 6 ft teenager do not need the same mattress. Children get a low, washable, lighter build; guests get coils; anyone over about 6 ft gets a twin XL at 80 in long.
2. Top bunk or not
Health Canada says the guardrail top must sit at least 12.7 cm (5 in) above the mattress. Bunk frames sold in Canada cap the mattress at 5 1/8 to 8 1/4 in, which rules out every 10 to 12 in mattress in this guide for a top bunk.
3. What the brand says about fiberglass
Canada's federal mattress test is a cigarette smoulder test, not an open-flame test, so many Canadian-made mattresses have no fiberglass sock at all. But only some brands put that in writing. Table 1 quotes them.
4. Trial and warranty
Endy, Douglas and Logan and Cove give 365 nights; Hamuq and Juno 120; Casper, Polysleep and Bloom 100; IKEA 90 days. Warranties run 5 years (Bloom River) to 20 (Costco Novaform).
5. The crossed-out price
Under the Competition Act a "regular" price must be one the seller genuinely charged for most of the last six months. Table 2 shows which twins were showing a strikethrough on September 2, 2026.
The ranking: fourteen twin mattresses sold in Canada, with sources
Fourteen twin mattresses were purchasable in Canada on September 2, 2026 from the brands that dominate Canadian search results for this size, and only six of them say anything about fiberglass on their own pages. The table ranks by what a twin buyer can verify: coils where published, the seller's own fiberglass words, height, trial, warranty, and the twin price actually shown. Hybrids lead because a twin bought for a guest room carries adult weight; the thin foam builds that suit a child or a bunk have their own picks below.
| Rank | Mattress | Type and height | Twin shown, CAD | Fiberglass, in the seller's words | Trial | Warranty | Figure source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Hamuq Original Hybrid | Hybrid, 9 in Canadian steel pocket coil base; 12.5 in measured by NapLab | $799, no crossed-out price; Twin XL $879 | Not stated on the product page (CertiPUR-US foams, no foam encasement) | 120 nights | 15 years | hamuq.com product data; NapLab review |
| 2 | Endy Hybrid | Hybrid, 12 in medium-firm; up to 1,088 coils (queen figure); "supports up to 600 lbs" | $880.75 with a "BONUS $50 OFF" badge; regular price not readable; Twin XL $906.25 | "Latex-free, fibre-glass free, and hypoallergenic" | 365 nights | 15 years | endy.com product page |
| 3 | Douglas Original Hybrid | Hybrid, 12 in, "3-zone pocketed coils"; count not stated | $749; Twin XL $799 | Not stated | 365 nights | 15 years | douglas.ca product page |
| 4 | Logan and Cove Choice | Hybrid pillow-top, 12 in; "up to 1,152" coils | $999; Twin XL $1,049 | Not stated | 365 nights | 15 years | loganandcove.ca product page |
| 5 | Hamuq Organic Hybrid | Hybrid, GOLS latex over micro coils and a 9 in pocket coil base | $1,249; Twin XL $1,589 | "No fibreglass, and no chemical flame retardants"; "naturally fire-retardant New Zealand Joma Wool" | 120 nights | 15 years | hamuq.com product page and certifications guide |
| 6 | Endy Mattress | Foam, 10 in medium-firm (9 in firm, 11 in plush) | $573.75, no strikethrough readable on the twin; Twin XL $633.25 | "Latex-free, fibre-glass free, and hypoallergenic" | 365 nights | 15 years | endy.com product page |
| 7 | Douglas Original | Foam, 10 in, three layers | $599; Twin XL $649 | Not stated | 365 nights | 15 years | douglas.ca product page |
| 8 | Endy Petit Kids Mattress | Foam, 7 in, washable quilted cover, "for kids ages 5 to 12" | $495; no Twin XL (Twin and Full only) | "Fibreglass-free and hypoallergenic for safer sleep" | 365 nights | 10 years (15 if registered) | endy.com kids product page |
| 9 | Juno Mattress | Foam, 8 in | $449 to $528 range shown; Twin XL $499 to $578 | Not stated | 120 nights | 15 years | juno.ca product page |
| 10 | Costco Novaform SoFresh | Foam, 10 in (25.4 cm), 18.23 kg twin | Not rendered on costco.ca without scripts; no Twin XL | "Mattress and cover are fiberglass free" | None stated (Costco return policy) | 20 years limited | costco.ca product page |
| 11 | Polysleep Origin | Foam, 10 in, medium-firm | $634 shown, $845 list (25 per cent) | Not stated | 100 nights, return after 45 | 10 years | polysleep.ca product page |
| 12 | The Casper Mattress (Canada) | Foam, four layers; height not stated anywhere on casper.ca | $799 shown, $999 list (20 per cent); Twin XL sold | Not stated on the site | 100 nights | 10 years | casper.ca twin category and product page |
| 13 | IKEA VESTERÖY | Hybrid, 20 cm (7 7/8 in), pocket springs, firm | $249; Twin XL $249 | "Flammability requirements set forth by CAN/CGSB-4.2 No. 27.7"; fiberglass not stated | 90 days | 10 years | ikea.com/ca product page |
| 14 | Bloom River (Sleep Country) | Foam, 7 in, firm | "From $399, was $499" (25 per cent); Twin XL sold | "An interior rayon barrier protects your mattress and helps reduce flame hazard"; fiberglass not stated | 100 nights | 5 years | sleepcountry.ca Bloom pages |
Also read: IKEA ÅKREHAMN foam twin $399 (20 cm, same flammability sentence, 90 days, 10 years), Casper Original Hybrid twin $879 shown / $1,099 list (100 nights, 10 years), and the Douglas Alpine and Summit twins at $799 and $999. Silk and Snow's pages blocked every read on September 2 and are discussed in the fiberglass section with a dated quote instead of a price.
The six picks, and where each one loses
Every pick names the competitor that beats it on at least one line, because a twin roundup that only finds reasons to buy is a catalogue. The subscores are our reading of the published specifications, not a testing lab.
Hamuq Original Hybrid, Twin
A guest room twin carries adult weight a few nights a month for a decade, which is the job pocket coils do better than 8 to 10 in of foam, and this is the cheapest Canadian pocket coil twin in the table by $81 to $200. It is also the only twin here whose price has no crossed-out number beside it. Possible downside: the 120-night trial is a third of what Endy, Douglas and Logan and Cove give, the product page does not state a fire barrier or a fiberglass position, and at 12.5 in it is too tall for any top bunk sold in Canada.
- Best for: a guest room, a teenager's single bed, or a twin XL for anyone over 6 ft.
- Skip if: the mattress is going on a top bunk, or you want the words "fibreglass-free" on the product page; buy the Endy Hybrid or the Hamuq Organic instead.
Endy Petit Kids Mattress
The only mattress in the table designed and priced for a child: 7 in tall so a small child can climb in, a cover that goes in the washing machine, and the fiberglass statement written on the product page. Downside: it is foam only, there is no twin XL, and Endy belongs to Sleep Country Canada, so its "365 nights" and "fibre-glass free" claims are the same house as Casper Canada's shorter terms.
- Best for: a first big-kid bed, a low platform or a bottom bunk.
- Skip if: the child is 13 or taller than about 5 ft 6 in; buy a 10 in adult twin they will not outgrow. Product page.
A 5 to 6 in bunk mattress, not any mattress in Table 1
Every full-height mattress in this guide fails the top bunk test on the frames sold in Canada: IKEA VITVAL allows 13 cm (5 1/8 in), DHP's metal bunk allows 4 to 6 in, and the tallest limit we found, IKEA MYDAL, is 21 cm (8 1/4 in). The rule behind those limits is Health Canada's: the guardrail must be at least 12.7 cm (5 in) above the mattress top. Downside: a 5 to 6 in foam is a child's mattress, not a guest's; keep it for the top bunk and put a real mattress on the bottom.
- Best for: the upper bunk or a loft bed, for a child aged 6 or older.
- Skip if: there is no bunk. A 7 in Endy Petit or a 10 in Douglas Original is a better everyday bed. Bunk Beds Canada mattresses.
Douglas Original, Twin
The reference Canadian foam twin: a full year to return it, a 15-year warranty and $599 with no strikethrough on the day we read it. Downside: no coils, foam densities are not published, the page says nothing about fiberglass, and remote addresses can pay shipping on returns.
- Best for: a child from about age 8 upward, a student, or a guest room on a budget.
- Skip if: you want the fiberglass position in writing at this price; the Endy Mattress twin at $573.75 shown says it. Product page.
Endy Hybrid, Twin
The twin to buy when you want coils, a published weight limit and the fiberglass position on the page, and a full year to decide. Downside: it is $81.75 more than the Hamuq twin on the day we read it with the regular price hidden behind a bonus badge, the coil count is a queen figure, and Endy is Sleep Country Canada's brand.
- Best for: a guest room where the written fiberglass statement matters more than the last $80.
- Skip if: a stable all-year price matters; Hamuq and Douglas showed none. Product page.
Hamuq Organic Hybrid, Twin
The answer to "what is the healthiest mattress for kids" when budget is not the constraint: the fire barrier is New Zealand wool, the latex and cotton carry GOLS and GOTS certificates, and the coils are Canadian steel. Downside: at $1,249 it costs more than two Douglas twins, it weighs 65 lb, and it is 120 nights against Endy's 365.
- Best for: a child's room where the parents want certificates rather than claims, or an adult guest with allergies.
- Skip if: the child is under 6 and will outgrow a twin; read the best organic mattress guide for the full-size decision.
What "fiberglass-free" means in Canada, and who actually says it
Fiberglass turns up in mattresses as a fire barrier: a sock of glass-fibre yarn under the cover that stops a flame spreading, cheap enough that many imported foam mattresses use it. The rules that push manufacturers toward it are American. The US open-flame standard, 16 CFR 1633, requires that "the peak rate of heat release shall not exceed 200 kilowatts" in a 30-minute burn test, and the US Consumer Product Safety Commission is explicit that it "is a performance standard, not a design standard; it does not specify the use of individual components, such as FR foams, barriers or thread". Fiberglass is one way to pass; wool, rayon and silica-treated fabrics are others.
Canada is different in a way that matters to this purchase. The federal Mattresses Regulations, SOR/2016-183 under the Canada Consumer Product Safety Act, require a mattress to pass CAN/CGSB-4.2 No. 27.7, which is a cigarette smoulder test; there is no federal open-flame test. That is why a Canadian-made mattress can be built with no fire sock at all, and why "fiberglass-free" is easy for a Canadian factory to say and hard for an importer of US-market foam to say. Health Canada publishes no statement about fiberglass in mattresses, so the only evidence is what each seller writes.
What the sellers in this guide wrote on September 2, 2026: Endy says "fibre-glass free" on the Mattress, the Hybrid and the Petit; Costco's Novaform SoFresh page says "Mattress and cover are fiberglass free"; Hamuq's Organic Hybrid guide says "no fibreglass, and no chemical flame retardants" with wool as the barrier; Bloom names "an interior rayon barrier"; IKEA cites the Canadian smoulder standard by number. Douglas, Juno, Logan and Cove, Polysleep and Casper Canada say nothing on their pages, and neither does Hamuq's Original Hybrid page. Silk and Snow's site blocked our reads; a brand statement recorded by fiberglassfree.com on March 26, 2024 says "For Canadian customers, our mattresses do not use any sort of fire sleeve, as fireproofing is not required under Canadian legislation", and we could not confirm it on the seller's own page that day. The honest reading: silence is not a fiberglass sock, but it is not a promise either, and a mattress you will never unzip is a mattress whose barrier never matters. If you want the promise in writing for a child's bed, Endy Petit, Endy, Costco Novaform and the Hamuq Organic are the four that give it. A note on the horizon: California's AB 1059 bans textile fiberglass in mattresses sold there from January 1, 2027, which will push more North American brands to publish a position.
What is the real twin price after the "sale"?
The real price is the one the seller charged for most of the last six months, because that is what Canada's Competition Act treats as the ordinary selling price. Under subsections 74.01(2) and 74.01(3) a crossed-out "regular" price is only genuine if more than half of sales in the previous twelve months were at that price or higher, or the product was offered at that price for more than half of the previous six months, and since June 2024 the seller carries the burden of proving it. Twin prices move with the Labour Day, Black Friday and Boxing Day cycle exactly as queens do, so the table records who was showing a strikethrough on September 2, 2026 and how big the gap was.
| Mattress, twin | Crossed-out or list price | Shown price | Gap | What the seller must be able to prove |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Hamuq Original Hybrid | $799 CAD | $799 CAD | None; no strikethrough | Nothing to prove: one price |
| Douglas Original | $599 CAD | $599 CAD | None today | Nothing to prove today |
| Logan and Cove Choice | $999 CAD | $999 CAD | None today | Nothing to prove today |
| Endy Mattress | Not readable on the twin; the queen on the same page showed $895 "marked down" to $760.75 | $573.75 CAD | 15 per cent on the queen | The higher price charged for over half of the last 6 months, or over half of last year's sales |
| Endy Hybrid | Not readable; "BONUS $50 OFF" badge | $880.75 CAD | $50 badge | Same tests on the undisclosed regular price |
| The Casper Mattress | $999 CAD | $799 CAD | $200 (20 per cent) | Same tests on $999 |
| Casper Original Hybrid | $1,099 CAD | $879 CAD | $220 (20 per cent) | Same tests on $1,099 |
| Polysleep Origin | $845 CAD | $634 CAD | $211 (25 per cent) | Same tests on $845 |
| Bloom River | $499 CAD ("was") | From $399 CAD | $100 (25 per cent) | Same tests on $499 |
| Bloom Earth | $579 CAD ("was") | From $459 CAD | $120 (21 per cent) | Same tests on $579 |
| Juno Mattress | Range shown, $449 to $528 | $449 to $528 CAD | None shown | Nothing to prove today |
| IKEA VESTERÖY | $249 CAD | $249 CAD | None | Nothing to prove |
Two honest readings. A brand that discounts 20 to 25 per cent every holiday is not necessarily breaking the rule, but its "regular" twin price is a number you should never pay, and the shown price is the real one. A brand with one twin price all year, which is how Hamuq lists the Original Hybrid at $799 and Douglas listed the Original at $599 that day, gives you nothing to wait for. Our how much to spend on a mattress guide covers what each band buys.
Bunk beds: Health Canada's 12.7 cm rule and which twins fit
Health Canada's bunk bed guidance is short and it decides this purchase. "The top of the guardrails must be at least 12.7 centimetres (5 inches) higher than the top of the mattress on all sides"; the mattress must fit "snugly against all four sides of the bed"; "no children under 6 years old on the top bunk at any time"; and buyers should choose a bed certified to a standard "such as ASTM International F1427". The rail heights on bunk frames sold in Canada turn that 12.7 cm into a maximum mattress height, and the frame's label is the number that governs.
| Mattress | Height | IKEA VITVAL bunk, max 13 cm (5 1/8 in) | DHP metal bunk, 4 to 6 in | IKEA MYDAL bunk, max 21 cm (8 1/4 in) | Verdict |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| ViscoLogic Econo bunk foam | 5 in | Fits | Fits | Fits | Top bunk, any frame |
| Bunk Beds Canada 6 in foam or latex | 6 in | Does not fit | Fits (at the limit) | Fits | Top bunk on most frames; check the label |
| Endy Petit Kids | 7 in | Does not fit | Does not fit | Fits | Top bunk only on tall-rail frames; fine for a bottom bunk |
| Bloom River | 7 in | Does not fit | Does not fit | Fits | Same as above |
| IKEA VESTERÖY or ÅKREHAMN | 20 cm (7 7/8 in) | Does not fit | Does not fit | Fits | IKEA pairs these with MYDAL |
| Juno | 8 in | Does not fit | Does not fit | Fits (at the limit) | Bottom bunk or single bed |
| Douglas Original, Endy Mattress, Polysleep Origin, Costco Novaform | 10 in | Does not fit | Does not fit | Does not fit | Bottom bunk or single bed only |
| Endy Hybrid, Douglas Original Hybrid, Logan and Cove Choice | 12 in | Does not fit | Does not fit | Does not fit | Bottom bunk or single bed only |
| Hamuq Original Hybrid | 12.5 in (NapLab) | Does not fit | Does not fit | Does not fit | Bottom bunk or single bed only |
The bottom bunk has no height limit beyond headroom, so the practical bunk-room answer is two different mattresses: a 5 to 6 in foam up top for the older child and a real 10 to 12 in mattress below. A twin ordered from Hamuq arrives in an 18.5 x 18.5 x 43 in carton at 55 lb, which one adult can carry up a flight of stairs; the mattress in a box dimensions guide has the carton and weight for every size. If the bunk is a metal frame with a wire or slat deck, check the slat gap before buying any hybrid: Hamuq's warranty asks for slats no more than 7.5 cm apart, explained in the hybrid bed frame guide.
Kids, guests and teenagers: which twin for whom
No Canadian or American paediatric body prescribes a mattress firmness for children past infancy. The Canadian Paediatric Society's firmness advice, "a firm, flat surface", is the infant safe-sleep rule, and its handout on healthy sleep for children says nothing about mattresses for toddlers or school-age kids. The "paediatricians recommend medium-firm for ages 3 to 12" lines you will see online come from mattress retailers. What can be said plainly: a child weighs too little to compress a firm adult mattress, so a medium-firm foam or a lower, softer build may help a small child sleep in contact with the surface rather than on top of it; a washable cover and a waterproof protector solve the problem that actually ends kids' mattresses; and a mattress bought at 5 will be outgrown in height by about 13, so a 10 in adult twin is the buy-once option for a bigger child.
| Sleeper | Size to buy | Height band | Our pick | Why | Add |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Child under 6, single bed | Twin, 38 x 75 in (96.5 x 190.5 cm) | 7 to 10 in on a low frame; never a top bunk | Endy Petit $495, or Douglas Original $599 if they will keep it to 13 | Low, light, washable cover; Petit says fibreglass-free on the page | Waterproof protector |
| Child 6 to 12, top bunk | Twin | 5 to 6 in, per the frame label | Bunk Beds Canada 6 in ($375 to $508) or ViscoLogic 5 in ($106.99) | Only builds that keep 12.7 cm of guardrail above the mattress | Check the label, not the listing |
| Child 6 to 12, bottom bunk | Twin | Any | Douglas Original $599 or Endy Mattress $573.75 shown | 10 in foam they will not outgrow; 365-night trials | Protector |
| Teenager, single bed | Twin, or Twin XL (38 x 80 in) if over about 6 ft | 10 to 12.5 in | Hamuq Original Hybrid $799 (Twin XL $879) | Pocket coils carry a growing adult; 15-year warranty; one price all year | Slatted frame, gaps under 7.5 cm |
| Guest room, adults | Twin XL if the room allows; two twin XLs make a king | 12 to 12.5 in | Hamuq Original Hybrid $799, or Endy Hybrid $880.75 shown for the written fiberglass line and "supports up to 600 lbs" | Coils and edge support for adult weight a few nights a month | Protector for guests |
| Student, dorm | Twin XL, 38 x 80 in (96.5 x 203 cm) | 10 to 12 in | Douglas Original Twin XL $649, Endy Twin XL $633.25 shown, Hamuq Twin XL $879 | Dorm frames are twin XL; weight and carton matter on move-in day | Mattress bag for the return move |
| Allergies, or parents who want certificates | Twin or Twin XL | Hybrid height | Hamuq Organic Hybrid $1,249 (Twin XL $1,589) | GOTS cotton, GOLS latex, wool fire barrier, "no fibreglass" in writing | Protector, breathable |
Two sizing notes from the Canadian size chart: a twin and a single are the same 38 x 75 in mattress, and a twin XL adds 5 in of length for anyone over about 6 ft, which is why dorms and split kings use it. Hamuq sells the Mattress Protector at $79 CAD for a twin and $89 for a twin XL; for a child's bed it is the cheapest insurance in this guide.
Trial and return fine print, brand by brand
A 365-night trial beats a 120-night trial only if the return is free and picked up, and a 20-year warranty means little without a trial at all. Twins are the size most often bought for someone else, a child or a guest, who cannot tell you on night 30 whether it works, so the length of the window matters more here than on a queen.
| Brand | Trial | Minimum nights before return | How the return works | Fees | Warranty |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Hamuq | 120 nights | 30 nights | Hamuq sends a courier to collect it; keep the plastic or buy a mattress bag | Free; returned units donated or recycled | 15 years, both mattresses |
| Endy (Mattress, Hybrid, Petit) | 365 nights | Not read | Free returns with pickup included | None stated | 15 years; Petit 10 years, 15 if registered |
| Douglas | 365 nights | Not read | Free shipping and returns | Shipping fees may apply for some remote locations | 15 years |
| Logan and Cove | 365 nights | Not read | Free returns | Not read | 15 years |
| Juno | 120 nights | Not read | Free returns to most areas | Fees may apply to remote locations | 15 years |
| Casper Canada | 100 nights | Not read | Not read | Not read | 10 years |
| Polysleep | 100 nights | 45 nights | Not read | Not read | 10 years |
| Costco (Novaform) | None stated; Costco's return policy applies | None | Return to warehouse or by Costco's process | Not read | 20 years limited |
| IKEA | 90 days | Not read | Return to store | Not read | 10 years |
| Sleep Country (Bloom) | 100 nights | Not read | Not read | Not read | River 5 years; Earth and Mist 10 years |
Hamuq's 15-year warranty has the same foundation condition on a twin as on a queen: slats no more than 7.5 cm apart on a proper frame. Most 15-year warranties carry a clause like it; ask each brand for its foundation rule in writing before putting a hybrid on an old bunk deck. The broader comparison is in best mattress sleep trial and return policy in Canada.
Hamuq product context
The Hamuq twins, priced the same every day
Original Hybrid: $799 CAD Twin, $879 Twin XL, ships at 55 and 60 lb, Canadian double tempered steel pocket coils, CertiPUR-US foams, medium-firm 6/10. Organic Hybrid: $1,249 Twin, $1,589 Twin XL, GOTS cotton, GOLS latex, wool fire barrier, no fibreglass. Both: free delivery in 2 to 5 business days, a 120-night trial with courier pickup on returns, and a 15-year warranty. There is no crossed-out price to wait for.
Hamuq Inc. makes and sells both mattresses. Prices were read on September 2, 2026; a sitewide promotion banner was live on hamuq.com that day, and the product page is the live figure. The Original Hybrid product page does not state a fire barrier; the Organic Hybrid's wool barrier is stated on its page.
Twin mattress fit finder
Pick the card that sounds like you
Open your route. Each answer is also in the tables above, so nothing here depends on the card.
1 It is for a child under 6, in a single bed
Your route: a low 7 to 10 in foam with a washable cover, never a top bunk. Endy Petit at $495 CAD says fibreglass-free on the page and has a machine-washable cover; the Douglas Original at $599 is the 10 in they can keep to 13. Add a waterproof protector, and put the bed on a low frame.
2 It is going on the top bunk
Your route: a 5 to 6 in bunk mattress, and not the Hamuq. Health Canada wants 12.7 cm (5 in) of guardrail above the mattress and the frames sold in Canada cap the mattress at 5 1/8 to 8 1/4 in. Bunk Beds Canada sells 6 in foam and latex twins from $375; a 5 in ViscoLogic is $106.99 on Amazon.ca. Nobody under 6 sleeps up there.
3 It is for the guest room, adults, a few nights a month
Your route: the Hamuq Original Hybrid at $799 CAD twin, or $879 twin XL. Pocket coils on a 9 in Canadian steel base, a 15-year warranty, 120 nights with courier pickup, and no sale to wait for. If you want "fibre-glass free" printed on the page, the Endy Hybrid at $880.75 shown says it and publishes a 600 lb limit.
4 It is for a teenager over 6 ft, a student, or a dorm
Your route: a twin XL, 38 x 80 in. Hamuq's Original Hybrid twin XL is $879 CAD and ships at 60 lb; Douglas Original twin XL $649 and Endy twin XL $633.25 shown are the foam options with 365-night trials. Buy the size the frame takes: dorm beds are twin XL, most bunks are twin.
This finder uses native expandable cards and no script. Confirm the live product page, the frame label and the trial terms before ordering.
Supplementary Hamuq product context
Hamuq owner and product Shorts
These Shorts from the Hamuq channel show owners unboxing and living with the Original Hybrid. They are context, not evidence for any price, height or fiberglass figure above.
Google-style buyer questions
Twin mattress FAQs for Canadian buyers
These are the questions Canadian searchers see under this topic, answered first and short, without review counts or star ratings.
Choosing a twin
What is the best twin mattress in Canada?
Quick answer: For a guest room or a teenager, the Hamuq Original Hybrid twin at $799 CAD: Canadian steel pocket coils, a 15-year warranty and one price all year. For a child aged 5 to 12, the 7 in Endy Petit at $495, which says fibreglass-free on its page. For a top bunk, a 5 to 6 in bunk mattress, because Health Canada wants 12.7 cm of guardrail above the mattress and no full-height mattress leaves that.
What is the best brand of twin mattress?
Quick answer: The brand that publishes what you need to check. Endy prints a fiberglass statement, a weight limit and a 365-night trial on its twins; Hamuq prints Canadian steel coils, CertiPUR-US foams and a 15-year warranty at one all-year price; Douglas prints a 365-night trial and a 15-year warranty at $599. Casper Canada, Polysleep and Juno publish the least on their twin pages, and Casper does not even state a height.
How much should I pay for a good twin mattress?
Quick answer: Twin prices read on September 2, 2026 run from $249 CAD for IKEA's VESTERÖY hybrid to $1,249 for the Hamuq Organic. The band where Canadian brands put 10 in foams and 12 in hybrids with 15-year warranties is $573.75 to $999, and the Hamuq Original Hybrid at $799 is the cheapest pocket coil twin in that band. Under $500 buys a 7 to 8 in foam suited to a child, not an adult.
What is the best affordable twin mattress?
Quick answer: The Douglas Original twin at $599 CAD with a 365-night trial and a 15-year warranty, if a full year to decide matters; the Endy Mattress twin at $573.75 shown, if you want fibre-glass free printed on the page; and IKEA's VESTERÖY hybrid at $249 with a 90-day return, if the budget is under $300. Juno's $449 to $528 range is 8 in of foam and best kept for a child or a bottom bunk.
Kids and bunk beds
Do kids need a soft or firm mattress?
Quick answer: No paediatric body in Canada or the United States prescribes a firmness for children past infancy; the firm, flat rule is the infant safe-sleep rule. A child weighs too little to compress a firm adult mattress, so a medium-firm foam or a lower, softer build may help a small child sleep in contact with the surface. The features that actually matter are a washable cover, a waterproof protector, and a height that fits the frame.
Is memory foam or hybrid better for kids?
Quick answer: Foam for a young child, a hybrid for a teenager. A 7 to 10 in foam is lighter to lift, lower to climb into and cheaper to replace when it is outgrown; a pocket coil hybrid like the Hamuq Original Hybrid twin at $799 CAD carries a growing teenager's weight for a decade and is the buy-once option. Memory foam that sleeps warm is the one build to avoid for a child who kicks the covers off.
What is the healthiest mattress for kids?
Quick answer: The one whose materials are certified rather than described. The Hamuq Organic Hybrid twin at $1,249 CAD has a GOTS certified organic cotton cover, GOLS certified Dunlop latex and New Zealand wool as its fire barrier, with no fibreglass and no chemical flame retardants stated in writing. At a lower price, the Endy Petit at $495 and the Costco Novaform SoFresh both print a fiberglass-free statement on their pages.
Do I need a special mattress for a bunk bed?
Quick answer: For the top bunk, yes. Health Canada says the guardrail top must be at least 12.7 cm (5 in) above the mattress, and bunk frames sold in Canada cap the mattress at 5 1/8 in (IKEA VITVAL), 4 to 6 in (DHP metal bunks) or 8 1/4 in (IKEA MYDAL). That means a 5 to 6 in bunk mattress up top. The bottom bunk has no height limit, so any twin in this guide works there.
What kind of mattress is used for bunk beds?
Quick answer: A 5 to 6 in foam or latex twin on the upper bunk, sold as a bunk or bunkie mattress: Bunk Beds Canada lists 6 in foam from $375 CAD and 6 in latex from $678, and a 5 in ViscoLogic Econo is $106.99 on Amazon.ca. It must fit snugly against all four sides of the frame with no gap, and Health Canada says no child under 6 sleeps on the upper bunk at any time.
Stores and pitfalls
Are Costco twin mattresses good?
Quick answer: The Novaform SoFresh twin is a 10 in three-layer foam with a 20-year limited warranty, and Costco's page prints "Mattress and cover are fiberglass free", which is more than most Canadian brands say. What it lacks is a sleep trial, a Twin XL, and a price you can read without loading Costco's scripts. Buy it for a child or a bottom bunk; for a guest room, a pocket coil twin with a published trial is the better fit.
Where's the cheapest place to buy a twin mattress?
Quick answer: IKEA, at $249 CAD for the VESTERÖY pocket spring twin and $399 for the ÅKREHAMN foam, both 20 cm tall with a 90-day return and a 10-year warranty. Online, Juno's twin runs $449 to $528 and Sleep Country's Bloom River starts at $399 shown. The cheapest good twin with a full-year trial is the Douglas Original at $599, and the cheapest pocket coil twin from a Canadian brand is the Hamuq Original Hybrid at $799.
What mattress to stay away from?
Quick answer: For a top bunk, any mattress over the frame's stated maximum, which rules out every 10 to 12.5 in mattress in this guide. For a child's bed, any mattress whose seller will not answer the fiberglass question in writing. For any twin, a "regular" price that is always crossed out: under the Competition Act it must be a price the seller genuinely charged for most of the last six months, and a permanent 20 to 25 per cent discount is a sign that it was not.
How we know this
This guide was built on September 2, 2026 from fourteen twin mattress listings across ten sellers. Hamuq twin prices, sizes, shipping weights, layer stacks, certifications, delivery windows and trial terms come from Hamuq's product data and its published guides; the Original Hybrid's 12.5 in height is NapLab's measurement, because Hamuq does not publish one, and the Original Hybrid product page states no fire barrier, which the article says. Competitor twin prices, heights, coil counts, fiberglass wording, trials and warranties were read the same day from the product pages of Endy, Douglas, Juno, Logan and Cove, Casper Canada, Polysleep, Costco, IKEA Canada and Sleep Country's Bloom line, with the shown promotional price and the list price recorded together; Silk and Snow's pages blocked our reads and its fiberglass position is a dated third-party record. The bunk bed rule is quoted from Health Canada's bunk bed safety pages; frame limits from IKEA Canada's MYDAL and VITVAL pages and DHP's assembly manual; the flammability regulations from the Mattresses Regulations SOR/2016-183, the US 16 CFR 1633 text and the CPSC's published questions and answers; California AB 1059 from the state legislature's bill text. The absence of paediatric firmness guidance was checked against the Canadian Paediatric Society's healthy sleep handout and Health Canada's safe sleep pages. The People Also Ask questions were captured from Google Canada on the same day. No review counts or star ratings are cited anywhere in this article.
The twin with coils, one price, and a 15-year warranty
Hamuq Original Hybrid, $799 CAD twin and $879 twin XL, Canadian steel pocket coils on a 9 in base, CertiPUR-US foams, free delivery in 2 to 5 business days, a 120-night trial with courier pickup, and a 15-year warranty. No sale to wait for. For a child's bed with certificates instead of claims, the Organic Hybrid twin is $1,249.
About the authors
Reviewer safeguard: This article does not use reviewedBy markup or present anyone as a credentialed product reviewer. Hamuq Inc. sells the two Hamuq mattresses discussed here, which is why every Hamuq figure is quoted from product data, every competitor figure carries its source and date, and no star ratings appear.
Sources
- Health Canada, Bunk bed and loft bed safety (guardrail 12.7 cm rule, under-6 rule, ASTM F1427)
- Health Canada, Is Your Child Safe? Sleep Time (bunk beds section)
- Justice Laws, Mattresses Regulations SOR/2016-183 (CAN/CGSB-4.2 No. 27.7 cigarette test)
- 16 CFR 1633.3, Standard for the flammability (open flame) of mattress sets (US)
- US Consumer Product Safety Commission, 16 CFR Part 1633 questions and answers ("performance standard, not a design standard")
- California Legislature, AB 1059 (textile fiberglass in mattresses, effective January 1, 2027)
- Competition Bureau Canada, Ordinary Price Claims (Competition Act subsections 74.01(2) and 74.01(3))
- Canadian Paediatric Society, Healthy sleep for your baby and child
- Hamuq, The Original Hybrid Mattress product page and The Organic Hybrid Mattress product page
- Hamuq, organic mattress certifications explained (no fibreglass statement)
- Hamuq, bed and mattress sizes in Canada (twin and twin XL dimensions)
- NapLab, Hamuq Original mattress review (12.5 in measured height; commission disclosed)
- Endy, The Endy Mattress, The Endy Hybrid and Endy Petit Kids Mattress
- Douglas, Original mattress and Original Hybrid mattress
- Juno, Juno Mattress
- Logan and Cove, Choice mattress
- Casper Canada, twin mattresses
- Polysleep, The Origin Mattress
- Costco Canada, Novaform SoFresh 25.4 cm foam mattress
- IKEA Canada, VESTERÖY hybrid mattress, MYDAL bunk bed frame and VITVAL bunk bed frame
- Sleep Country Canada, Bloom mattresses
- Bunk Beds Canada, bunk bed mattresses
- Dorel Home (DHP), metal bunk bed twin over twin assembly manual (mattress 4 to 6 in, 5 in guardrail clearance)
- Amazon.ca, ViscoLogic Econo 5 in twin bunk mattress
- fiberglassfree.com, record of Silk and Snow's Canadian fire sleeve statement (March 26, 2024)
