Non-Toxic Mattress in Canada (2026): Fiberglass-Free, Low-VOC Brands, Verified Not Marketed
Canadian buyer guide, updated September 2, 2026
Non-Toxic Mattress in Canada (2026): Fiberglass-Free, Low-VOC Brands, Verified Not Marketed
Eighteen mattresses sold in Canada, with the exact words each seller uses about fiberglass, flame retardants and VOCs, which certificates you can actually look up, and what Canadian law does and does not require.
AI Overview answer
What is the least toxic mattress in Canada?
Quick answer: The least toxic mattress you can verify in Canada under $2,000 is the Hamuq Organic Hybrid at $1,999 CAD queen: GOLS latex, GOTS cotton and a New Zealand wool fire barrier with no fibreglass and no chemical flame retardants stated in writing, while Obasan and Essentia go further by publishing their certificate numbers as downloadable PDFs.
"Non-toxic" is not a regulated term in Canada, so this guide does not grade adjectives. It records what each seller actually wrote on its own pages on September 2, 2026 about the fire barrier, fiberglass, flame retardant chemicals and VOC emissions, whether the certificate it names can be looked up by number, and the queen price. It also explains why a Canadian-made mattress can skip the fiberglass sock entirely: Canada's federal mattress test is a cigarette smoulder test, not the American open-flame test. Hamuq makes the Organic Hybrid and the Original Hybrid, so both are graded by the same rules as everyone else, including the things Hamuq does not yet print.
Buyer decision structure
Five checks before you trust the word "non-toxic"
1. What is the fire barrier
Every mattress has one. Wool, rayon, silica-treated fabric and fiberglass all pass fire tests. The seller that names its barrier has nothing to hide; the one that says nothing may still be fine, but you are guessing.
2. Is "fibreglass-free" written down
Only some brands put it on the page: Endy, Costco's Novaform, Avocado, Naturepedic, Essentia, Fawcett and Hamuq's Organic do. Douglas, Juno, Logan and Cove, Polysleep and Casper Canada's product pages do not, and neither does Hamuq's Original Hybrid.
3. Can the certificate be looked up
A GOLS or GOTS certificate has a number (CU followed by digits) and a scope PDF. Obasan, Essentia and Avocado print theirs; Naturepedic links the UL registry. Most brands, Hamuq included, name the certificate without the number.
4. What CertiPUR-US does and does not cover
It certifies the polyurethane foam only, with VOC emissions under 0.5 parts per million and no PBDE, TDCPP or TCEP flame retardants. It says nothing about the cover, the fire barrier or a latex mattress.
5. Which country's rules the mattress was built for
Canada requires a cigarette smoulder test (SOR/2016-183). The US requires a 30-minute open-flame test (16 CFR 1633), which is why fiberglass socks are common in US-market and Amazon imports and rare in Canadian-built beds.
The ledger: what eighteen sellers put in writing about their mattresses
Eighteen mattresses were purchasable in Canada on September 2, 2026 from the brands that dominate Canadian search results for non-toxic, fiberglass-free and organic mattresses. The table quotes the seller's own words, not ours, and marks "not stated" wherever the page we read was silent. It is sorted by how much is in writing, then by price, so a $895 foam mattress with a fibreglass-free line outranks a $2,299 hybrid with none.
| Mattress | Queen, CAD | Fire barrier named | Fiberglass statement, seller's words | Certificates named | Certificate number or registry link on the page | VOC or off-gassing wording | Made in |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Hamuq Organic Hybrid | $1,999 | "Naturally fire-retardant New Zealand Joma Wool" | "No fibreglass, and no chemical flame retardants" (Hamuq certifications guide) | GOLS latex, GOTS cotton | No; names only | "No synthetic foam. No off-gassing." | Canada (coils Toronto, latex Sri Lanka, wool New Zealand) |
| Obasan Essential 8 | $2,469 | Wool (no chemical flame retardants stated) | Not stated | GOLS CU864899, GOTS CU1010074 | Yes, scope certificate PDFs | "Zero Off-Gassing" | Ottawa |
| Essentia Grateful Eight | $3,399 | None in Canada ("do not have the non-toxic Kevlar flame retardant fabric") | "We also don't use fiberglass, silica, boric acid, or antimony" | GOLS and GOTS CU 847578 | Yes, PDFs | "Non Toxic and VOC Free" | Canada |
| Naturepedic EOS Classic | $4,527.20 | "Without the need for added flame retardant chemicals or barriers" | "No Fiberglass, Phthalates or Vinyl/PVC" | GOTS, GOLS, MADE SAFE, GREENGUARD Gold, EWG Verified | Yes, UL SPOT registry link | "No... toxic VOCs" | Ohio, USA |
| Avocado Green Mattress | $3,399 shown, $3,999 list | "100% GOTS organic certified wool (CU 863637)" | "We do not use flame retardant chemicals, chemical dips, or fire socks"; kids model "fiberglass" excluded by name | GOTS and GOLS CU863637, GREENGUARD Gold, OEKO-TEX, MADE SAFE, FSC | Numbers yes; registry link not seen | "GREENGUARD Gold Certified for low emissions"; "Formaldehyde Free" | Los Angeles, USA |
| Fawcett Sombrio 7 in | $1,999 | "Natural Joma wool as the fire barrier in every mattress" | "Zero chemical flame retardants and zero fibreglass" | OEKO-TEX Standard 100, Cradle to Cradle (latex supplier) | No | "No Off-gassing" | Vancouver Island |
| Kakun Nine | $2,499 | "GOTS certified organic wool... acts as a natural fire barrier" | Not stated | GOLS CU 864899, GOTS CU 1010074 | Numbers yes (same as Obasan's) | Not stated | Canada |
| Endy Mattress | $895 | Not stated | "Latex-free, fibre-glass free, and hypoallergenic" | CertiPUR-US foam; GREENGUARD Gold (2020 press release) | No | "Less than 0.5 parts per million" (snippet) | Canada |
| Endy Hybrid | $1,295 | Not stated | "Latex-free, fibre-glass free, and hypoallergenic" | CertiPUR-US foam; GREENGUARD Gold (2020 press release) | No | Same as above | Canada |
| Silk and Snow Organic | Not readable (site blocked) | "GOTS-certified organic wool as a natural fire-retardant layer" (snippet) | "Uses no fiberglass, or petrochemical foams" (snippet) | GOLS, GOTS, OEKO-TEX (snippet) | Not readable | Not readable | "Assembled locally in Toronto" (snippet) |
| Costco Novaform SoFresh | Not rendered without scripts | Not stated | "Mattress and cover are fiberglass free" | Not read | No | Not stated | Not stated |
| Hamuq Original Hybrid | $999 | Not stated on the product page | Not stated | CertiPUR-US foams (Vitafoam, Ontario) | No; the foam maker appears on the CertiPUR-US foam supplier directory as VPC Group | Per CertiPUR-US, foam under 0.5 ppm | Canada |
| Douglas Original | $799 | Not stated | Not stated | CertiPUR-US: "no ozone depleters, heavy metals, or hazardous flame retardants" | No | "Slight scent that usually dissipates within 24 hours" (snippet) | Canada |
| Logan and Cove Choice | $1,199 | Not stated | Not stated | CertiPUR-US foams; OEKO-TEX claimed (snippet) | No | "Little to no odor or chemical off-gassing" (snippet) | Canada |
| Juno Mattress | $549 to $628 | Not stated | Not stated | CertiPUR-US foams | No | Not stated | Canada |
| Polysleep Mattress | $1,375.95 | Not stated | Not stated | CertiPUR-US foams; ISO 20743 antimicrobial | No | "Low VOC... (less than 0.5 parts per million)" | "Crafted in a local factory" |
| The Casper Mattress (Canada) | $1,499 list, $1,199 shown | Not stated on casper.ca; the US blog says newer models use "rayon or proprietary silica blends" | Not stated on casper.ca; the US blog says "some of our earlier models used fiberglass" and names the Original and Original Hybrid | CertiPUR-US foams (snippet) | No | "Less than 0.5 parts per million" (snippet) | Not stated |
| Sleep Country Bloom River | From $399 (size unlabelled), was $499 | "An interior rayon barrier protects your mattress and helps reduce flame hazard" | Not stated | Not stated | No | Not stated | Not stated |
Also read: Endy Petit kids twin $495 ("Fibreglass-free and hypoallergenic"), IKEA VESTERÖY and ÅKREHAMN (cite the Canadian smoulder standard CAN/CGSB-4.2 No. 27.7 by number; fiberglass not stated), Zinus on Amazon.ca (the Canadian listing title for the Green Tea queen omits the "Fiberglass Free" words the US listing carries; Zinus says newer mattresses use a carbon-rayon sleeve), and Nectar (ships to the contiguous United States only; sold in Canada through Ashley at $1,264.99 with no fiberglass wording). Bear stopped shipping to Canada in 2020.
The six picks, and where each one loses
Every pick names the competitor that beats it on at least one line. The subscores are our reading of what each seller publishes: Written (how much is in writing), Proof (whether a certificate can be looked up) and Price.
Hamuq Organic Hybrid
The only mattress in the table under $2,000 that names its fire barrier, rules out fibreglass and chemical flame retardants in writing, and carries both GOLS and GOTS. It is also the only certified organic hybrid here with a Canadian steel coil base rather than all latex, which is why it weighs 120 lb in a queen and sleeps cooler than a foam-core organic. Possible downside: Hamuq names the certificates but does not print the certificate numbers or a registry link on the product page, which Obasan, Essentia and Avocado do, and the 120-night trial is shorter than Endy's 365.
- Best for: a buyer who wants organic latex, wool and cotton with coils, under $2,000, from a Canadian maker.
- Skip if: you will not buy without seeing the certificate PDF; Obasan at $2,469 publishes it.
Endy Mattress
The cheapest mattress in the table that puts "fibre-glass free" on the product page, with GREENGUARD Gold claimed for the whole mattress and a full-year trial. Downside: the fire barrier is not named, the GREENGUARD certificate is not linked, its help article on fibreglass blocked our read, and Endy belongs to Sleep Country Canada. Product page.
- Best for: a foam buyer under $1,000 who wants the fiberglass answer in writing.
- Skip if: you want latex or coils; the Hamuq Organic is the certified step up.
Obasan Essential 8
The Canadian brand that shows its work: certificate numbers and the scope PDFs sit on the product page, so a buyer can check the certifying body's record without asking. Downside: it costs $470 more than the Hamuq Organic queen, it is an all-latex build with no coils, and the page does not use the word fiberglass at all, relying on "no chemical flame retardants". Product page.
- Best for: a buyer who wants to verify, not trust.
- Skip if: you want coils or a budget under $2,000.
Naturepedic Latex-Free Serenade
For a latex allergy, the one build here that is neither latex nor polyurethane and still prints every statement a cautious buyer wants, with a link to the UL registry. Downside: it is made in the United States and priced above every Canadian option, and the sale price is a crossed-out number. Product page.
- Best for: latex-sensitive sleepers who want certificates and no foam of any kind.
- Skip if: Canadian-made matters; Fawcett and Hamuq are the Canadian wool-barrier builds.
Avocado Green Mattress
The longest certificate list in the table, with the Control Union number printed and a dedicated certifications page. Downside: the highest Canadian price of the organic hybrids, a crossed-out list price, and it ships from the United States. Certifications page.
- Best for: a buyer who wants every third-party mark on one bed and does not mind the price.
- Skip if: $3,399 is more than half the budget for the whole bedroom.
Casper Canada
The brand with a fiberglass question in its own Canadian help centre and no answer on the product pages we could read. The US blog's account of "earlier models" with fiberglass covers two names casper.ca still sells. Downside: shortest trial and warranty in the guide; ask in writing which barrier the Canadian unit carries before buying. Product page.
- Best for: buyers who want a Sleep Country showroom first and will get the answer in writing.
- Skip if: silence on the fire barrier is a deal-breaker.
What each certificate actually covers, and what it does not
Most "non-toxic" claims rest on one of five certificates, and each one tests something different. CertiPUR-US is the one you will see most and the one most often stretched: in the program's own words, "We only certify flexible polyurethane foam." It does not cover the cover, the fire barrier, latex or coils, so a "CertiPUR-US certified mattress" is a mattress whose foam is certified. GREENGUARD Gold is the opposite kind of test: the whole product goes into a chamber and its emissions are measured against limits. GOLS and GOTS certify organic content and processing, not emissions.
| Certificate | What it tests | Limit or threshold | What it does not cover | Who in this guide claims it |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| CertiPUR-US | Flexible polyurethane foam only | VOC emissions "less than 0.5 parts per million"; made without PBDE, TDCPP or TCEP flame retardants, formaldehyde, phthalates regulated by the CPSC, mercury, lead and other heavy metals | Covers, fire barriers, latex, coils, the finished mattress | Hamuq Original Hybrid, Endy, Douglas, Juno, Logan and Cove, Polysleep, Casper |
| GREENGUARD Gold (UL 2818) | Chamber emissions of the whole product | TVOC 220 micrograms per cubic metre; formaldehyde 7.3 parts per billion; total aldehydes 43 ppb | Organic content, fire barrier material, durability | Endy (press release), Avocado, Naturepedic |
| OEKO-TEX Standard 100 | Textiles for harmful substances, "over 1,000" | Four product classes; class I (babies) strictest | Foam emissions, organic content | Avocado, Fawcett, Logan and Cove (snippet), Silk and Snow (snippet) |
| GOLS | Organic latex content and processing, certified by Control Union | "A minimum 95% certified natural rubber latex" of polymer content | Emissions, fire barrier, cover | Hamuq Organic, Obasan, Essentia, Avocado, Kakun, Silk and Snow, Naturepedic, Evergreen |
| GOTS | Organic textiles across the supply chain | "Organic" needs at least 95 per cent certified organic fibres; "made with organic" at least 70 per cent | Latex, foam, emissions | Hamuq Organic, Obasan, Essentia, Avocado, Kakun, Naturepedic, Fawcett cotton |
| MADE SAFE | Ingredient screening against a banned and restricted list | "Over 15,000" listed substances avoided or constrained | Emissions testing, organic content | Avocado, Naturepedic |
| eco-INSTITUT | Emissions and pollutant testing for products used indoors | "Low-emission and low-pollutant" label | Organic content | Evergreen (named, no number) |
The practical test is not which logo appears but whether you can find the record behind it. A GOLS or GOTS certificate carries a Control Union number and a scope document; Obasan and Essentia put the PDF on the page, Avocado and Kakun print the number, Naturepedic links the UL registry for GREENGUARD. Hamuq, Endy, Douglas, Fawcett and the rest name the program without the number, which is normal and not a red flag, but it means you are taking the seller's word. Hamuq's own certifications explainer covers how to ask a brand for the number.
Canada's rules versus the US rules, and why it matters for fiberglass
The single most useful fact for a Canadian buyer is that the two countries test mattresses differently. Canada's Mattresses Regulations, SOR/2016-183 under the Canada Consumer Product Safety Act, require the mattress to pass CAN/CGSB-4.2 No. 27.7, a cigarette smoulder test: a lit cigarette on the surface must not char more than 50 mm or keep burning ten minutes after it goes out. The United States adds 16 CFR 1633, a 30-minute open-flame burner test with a peak heat release cap of 200 kilowatts. Health Canada's futon guidance says outright that compliance "can be achieved without the use of flame retardant chemicals". A mattress built for Canada therefore needs no fiberglass sock and no chemical barrier to be legal; a mattress built for the American market usually needs one of them, and fiberglass is the cheapest. That is the whole reason imports sold through Amazon.ca, and US brands shipping north, are the ones to question, and Canadian factories can say "fibreglass-free" so easily.
| Rule | Jurisdiction | What it requires | What it means for a fiberglass or "non-toxic" claim |
|---|---|---|---|
| Mattresses Regulations, SOR/2016-183 | Canada, federal | Cigarette test CAN/CGSB-4.2 No. 27.7; mattress pads and crib mattresses excluded, futons included | No open-flame test, so no fire sock is needed to comply; a Canadian-built mattress can be fiberglass-free by design |
| 16 CFR 1633 and 1632 | United States | 1633 open-flame test (peak heat release under 200 kW in 30 minutes); 1632 cigarette test | "A performance standard, not a design standard", per the CPSC; makers choose fiberglass, wool, rayon or silica to pass |
| California AB 1059 | California | Bans "textile fiberglass" in new mattresses, upholstered furniture and juvenile products sold in the state from January 1, 2027 | The first outright ban; expect more North American brands to publish a barrier statement before 2027 |
| California SB 1019 and TB 117-2013 | California | Label must state whether upholstery materials "contain added flame retardant chemicals" or "contain NO added flame retardant chemicals" | Only US-market beds carry it; a useful label to look for on imports |
| Prohibition of Certain Toxic Substances Regulations, 2025 (SOR/2025-270) | Canada, federal | Prohibits PBDEs and HBCD including in products, with incidental limits of 500 mg/kg for PBDEs and 100 mg/kg for HBCD; the old exemption for manufactured items is repealed | Legacy brominated flame retardants are out of new Canadian foam; TDCPP and TCPP remain under assessment, not prohibited in adult mattresses |
| Canada Consumer Product Safety Act, Schedule 2 item 16 | Canada, federal | Prohibits polyurethane foam products containing TCEP intended for a child under three | Applies to kids' products; adult mattresses are not covered by this item |
| Textile Labelling and Advertising Regulations, C.R.C. c. 1551 | Canada, federal | The outer cover's fibres present at 5 per cent or more must be listed; the filling of a mattress is exempt unless the seller makes a claim about it; "glass" is a recognised fibre name | A fiberglass fire sock inside a Canadian-sold mattress does not have to appear on the label, so "check the law label" is not a reliable test in Canada |
That last row matters because several Canadian retailers' guides tell readers to look for "glass fibres" on the law label. Federally, the label covers the outer cover only; Ontario's stuffed-articles label ended in 2019 and Quebec's in 2021, so no province requires the filling to be listed either. The only reliable test in Canada is the seller's written statement, which is why this guide quotes it.
Off-gassing, VOCs, and what Health Canada's guideline actually says
Every new mattress releases some volatile organic compounds, and the smell in the first days is the visible sign. Health Canada's residential indoor air quality guideline for formaldehyde, the VOC it regulates most closely, sets a short-term exposure limit of 123 micrograms per cubic metre (100 parts per billion) and a long-term limit of 50 micrograms per cubic metre (40 ppb), and its healthy-home guidance names mattresses among the products that "can emit gases into your indoor air", adding that emissions "release less and less formaldehyde over time, but it can take weeks, and sometimes even months". CertiPUR-US foam is certified under 0.5 parts per million of VOCs in a chamber test; GREENGUARD Gold caps the whole product at 220 micrograms per cubic metre of total VOCs. No seller in this guide publishes its own chamber result; the closest thing to a measurement is NapLab's timed test of the Hamuq Original Hybrid, which recorded a 7-day off-gassing period.
| Item | Figure or wording | Source |
|---|---|---|
| Health Canada formaldehyde limit, short term | 123 micrograms per cubic metre (100 ppb) | Residential Indoor Air Quality Guideline: Formaldehyde |
| Health Canada formaldehyde limit, long term | 50 micrograms per cubic metre (40 ppb) | Same guideline |
| How long off-gassing lasts | "Weeks, and sometimes even months or years"; "increasing ventilation may help" | Health Canada, formaldehyde in the indoor environment |
| CertiPUR-US foam VOC limit | "Less than 0.5 parts per million" | certipur.us |
| GREENGUARD Gold whole-product limits | TVOC 220 micrograms per cubic metre; formaldehyde 7.3 ppb | UL GREENGUARD criteria table |
| Hamuq Original Hybrid, measured off-gassing | 7 days | NapLab review, May 18, 2026 |
| Hamuq Organic Hybrid | "No synthetic foam. No off-gassing." | hamuq.com product page |
| Douglas | "A slight scent that usually dissipates within 24 hours" (snippet) | douglas.ca FAQ |
| Endy, Polysleep, Casper | Foam "less than 0.5 parts per million" (CertiPUR-US wording) | Seller pages and snippets |
| Obasan, Essentia, Fawcett | "Zero Off-Gassing"; "VOC Free"; "No Off-gassing" | Seller pages |
Two honest cautions. "No off-gassing" and "VOC free" are seller claims, not chamber results, and a natural latex or wool mattress has a smell of its own for a few days. And the number that protects you most is airflow: unbox the mattress in a room you can ventilate, and read the new mattress smell guide for what is normal in the first week.
The price of a written promise
Sorting the ledger by what is in writing produces a price ladder that is easier to shop than any adjective. Under $1,000 you can have a CertiPUR-US foam and, from Endy, the fibreglass-free line; you cannot yet have a named natural fire barrier. Between $1,000 and $2,000 the wool barrier and the organic certificates appear, at Hamuq and Fawcett. Above $2,000 you are paying for the certificate PDFs, the extra marks, and in most cases an all-latex build with no coils.
| Band, queen CAD | Mattress | What is in writing | Certificate proof | Fire barrier |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Under $1,000 | Douglas Original $799 | CertiPUR-US foam; "no hazardous flame retardants" | None | Not stated |
| Under $1,000 | Endy Mattress $895 | "Fibre-glass free"; CertiPUR-US; GREENGUARD Gold | None linked | Not stated |
| Under $1,000 | Hamuq Original Hybrid $999 | CertiPUR-US foams (Vitafoam) | Foam maker on the CertiPUR-US supplier list | Not stated |
| $1,000 to $2,000 | Logan and Cove Choice $1,199; Endy Hybrid $1,295; Polysleep $1,375.95 | CertiPUR-US; Endy adds "fibre-glass free" | None | Not stated |
| $1,000 to $2,000 | Hamuq Organic Hybrid $1,999 | Wool barrier; "no fibreglass, and no chemical flame retardants"; GOLS; GOTS | Names, no numbers | New Zealand wool |
| $1,000 to $2,000 | Fawcett Sombrio $1,999 | "Zero fibreglass"; OEKO-TEX | Names, no numbers | Joma wool |
| $2,000 to $3,500 | Obasan Essential 8 $2,469; Kakun Nine $2,499; Naturepedic Latex-Free Serenade $2,623.20 shown | No chemical flame retardants; no polyurethane; Naturepedic adds "No Fiberglass" | PDFs (Obasan), numbers (Kakun), UL registry (Naturepedic) | Wool; Naturepedic none |
| $2,000 to $3,500 | Essentia Grateful Eight $3,399; Avocado Green $3,399 shown | "Don't use fiberglass, silica, boric acid, or antimony"; "no fire socks" | PDFs (Essentia), numbers (Avocado) | None in Canada (Essentia); wool (Avocado) |
| Over $3,500 | Fawcett Galiano $3,749; Naturepedic EOS Classic $4,527.20 | Wool barrier; "No Fiberglass, Phthalates or Vinyl/PVC" | Names (Fawcett); UL registry (Naturepedic) | Joma wool; none |
A crossed-out price is a separate question from a chemical one, but it is worth the same scepticism: under Canada's Competition Act a "regular" price must be one the seller genuinely charged for most of the last six months. Avocado, Naturepedic, Casper and Bloom showed one on September 2; Hamuq, Endy, Douglas, Obasan, Fawcett and Essentia showed a single price. Our guide to how much to spend on a mattress covers what each band buys beyond the certificates.
Hamuq product context
The Hamuq Organic Hybrid, graded the same way as everyone else
$1,249 CAD Twin, $1,589 Twin XL, $1,799 Full, $1,999 Queen, $2,499 King. GOTS certified organic cotton cover, New Zealand Joma wool as the fire barrier, GOLS certified Dunlop latex, a micro coil layer and a 9 in Canadian steel pocket coil base with no foam encasement. Free delivery, a 120-night trial with courier pickup on returns, and a 15-year warranty. What Hamuq does not print yet: the GOLS and GOTS certificate numbers and a fire barrier statement on the Original Hybrid page. Both are on the list.
Hamuq Inc. makes and sells both mattresses. Prices were read on September 2, 2026; a sitewide promotion banner was live on hamuq.com that day, and the product page is the live figure.
Non-toxic mattress fit finder
Pick the card that sounds like you
Open your route. Each answer is also in the tables above, so nothing here depends on the card.
1 Under $1,000, and I want the fiberglass answer in writing
Your route: the Endy Mattress at $895 CAD queen. "Fibre-glass free" is on the product page, the foam is CertiPUR-US and the trial is 365 nights. The Hamuq Original Hybrid at $999 gives you coils and a 15-year warranty but its page does not state a fire barrier, so it is the coil pick, not the written-promise pick.
2 Certified organic, wool barrier, under $2,000
Your route: the Hamuq Organic Hybrid at $1,999 CAD queen. GOLS latex, GOTS cotton, New Zealand wool as the fire barrier, no fibreglass and no chemical flame retardants stated, on a Canadian steel coil base. Fawcett's Sombrio at $1,999 is the all-latex alternative from Vancouver Island.
3 I will not buy without seeing the certificate PDF
Your route: Obasan at $2,469 CAD or Essentia at $3,399. Both put the Control Union scope certificate on the page. Naturepedic links the UL registry for GREENGUARD Gold at $2,623.20 shown. Ask any other brand, Hamuq included, for the number by email before you order; a certified brand can send it the same day.
4 Latex allergy, or no foam of any kind
Your route: Naturepedic's Latex-Free Serenade at $2,623.20 CAD shown. Cotton, wool and PLA with "No Fiberglass, Phthalates or Vinyl/PVC" in writing. On a budget, the Endy Mattress is latex-free polyurethane foam with the fibreglass-free line at $895.
This finder uses native expandable cards and no script. Confirm the live product page and ask for the certificate number before ordering.
Supplementary Hamuq product context
Hamuq owner and product Shorts
These Shorts from the Hamuq channel show owners unboxing and living with Hamuq mattresses. They are context, not evidence for any certificate, price or emissions figure above.
Google-style buyer questions
Non-toxic mattress FAQs for Canadian buyers
These are the questions Canadian searchers see under this topic, answered first and short, without review counts or star ratings.
Choosing the mattress
What is the least toxic mattress in Canada?
Quick answer: Under $2,000, the Hamuq Organic Hybrid at $1,999 CAD queen: GOLS latex, GOTS cotton, a New Zealand wool fire barrier, and no fibreglass or chemical flame retardants stated in writing. If you want the certificate numbers on the page as well, Obasan's Essential 8 at $2,469 and Essentia's Grateful Eight at $3,399 publish their Control Union scope certificates; Hamuq names its certificates without the numbers.
What is the most non-toxic mattress brand?
Quick answer: Measured by what is in writing, Naturepedic and Avocado: both print "no fiberglass" and "no flame retardant chemicals", carry GOTS, GOLS, MADE SAFE and GREENGUARD Gold, and give a certificate number or registry link. Both are made in the United States and cost $3,399 to $4,527 CAD for a queen. The Canadian brands closest to that standard are Obasan, Essentia and Hamuq's Organic Hybrid.
What is the safest mattress for your health?
Quick answer: One whose seller names the fire barrier, rules out fibreglass and chemical flame retardants in writing, and holds a certificate you can look up. In Canada that shortlist is the Hamuq Organic Hybrid, Obasan, Essentia, Fawcett, Avocado and Naturepedic. No Canadian regulation defines "safe" or "non-toxic" for mattresses; the federal rule is a cigarette smoulder test, so the seller's statements are the evidence.
What is the healthiest mattress that is actually comfortable?
Quick answer: A certified organic hybrid, because the coil base gives the support and airflow that an all-latex slab lacks. The Hamuq Organic Hybrid puts GOLS latex and a wool quilt over micro coils and a 9 in Canadian steel pocket coil base at $1,999 CAD queen; Avocado's Green Mattress is the other organic hybrid in the table at $3,399 shown. Both come with a home trial, 120 nights at Hamuq.
Fiberglass
What mattresses are truly fiberglass free?
Quick answer: The ones that say so on their own pages, read September 2, 2026: Endy's Mattress, Hybrid and Petit ("fibre-glass free"), Costco's Novaform SoFresh ("Mattress and cover are fiberglass free"), the Hamuq Organic Hybrid ("no fibreglass"), Fawcett ("zero fibreglass"), Essentia, Naturepedic and Avocado. Douglas, Juno, Logan and Cove, Polysleep, Casper Canada and Hamuq's Original Hybrid do not state a position on their product pages.
Does Canada allow fiberglass mattresses?
Quick answer: Yes. No Canadian law bans fiberglass in mattresses, and Health Canada publishes no statement about it. Canada's Mattresses Regulations only require a cigarette smoulder test, which is why Canadian-made mattresses rarely need a fiberglass sock, while US-market mattresses built for the open-flame test often carry one. California is the first jurisdiction to ban textile fiberglass in mattresses, from January 1, 2027.
How do I know if a mattress is fiberglass free?
Quick answer: Ask the seller in writing and read its product page; in Canada the law label will not tell you, because the federal textile labelling rules cover the outer cover only and exempt a mattress's filling unless the seller makes a claim about it. Look for the barrier named (wool, rayon, silica) or the words "fiberglass-free", and be wary of any mattress whose care tag says never to remove the cover.
Do Costco mattresses contain fiberglass?
Quick answer: The Novaform SoFresh sold on costco.ca states "Mattress and cover are fiberglass free" on its product page, which is more than most Canadian brands print. Other mattresses in Costco's Canadian range are sold by their own brands, so check each listing; a US-market import built for the open-flame test is the one to question.
Certificates and stores
Which mattresses are GOTS certified?
Quick answer: In this guide, the Hamuq Organic Hybrid (organic cotton cover), Obasan (GOTS CU1010074), Essentia (CU 847578), Avocado (CU863637), Kakun, Naturepedic, and Fawcett's cotton ticking; Silk and Snow's Organic claims it too but its site blocked our read. GOTS certifies the organic textile, cotton or wool, not the latex, which is GOLS, and not emissions.
What are some toxic-free mattresses available in Canada?
Quick answer: Canadian-made and stating no fibreglass or no chemical flame retardants: the Hamuq Organic Hybrid ($1,999 CAD queen), Fawcett Sombrio ($1,999), Obasan Essential 8 ($2,469), Kakun Nine ($2,499) and Essentia Grateful Eight ($3,399). Imported with the same statements: Avocado ($3,399 shown) and Naturepedic ($2,623.20 shown). Under $1,000, Endy's foam mattress is the one that prints "fibre-glass free".
Does Costco sell nontoxic mattresses?
Quick answer: Costco Canada sells the Novaform SoFresh, whose page states it is fiberglass free, and it carries a 20-year limited warranty; the page does not name a fire barrier or a VOC certificate, and costco.ca does not show the price without scripts. It is a reasonable budget foam for a child or guest room, not a certified organic mattress.
What is the least toxic mattress brand?
Quick answer: Judged on published proof rather than adjectives: Obasan and Essentia in Canada, which post their GOLS and GOTS scope certificates, and Naturepedic and Avocado from the United States, which print numbers and registry links. Hamuq's Organic Hybrid matches them on materials and statements at a lower price and is the one this guide picks under $2,000, with the honest caveat that its certificate numbers are not yet printed.
How we know this
This guide was built on September 2, 2026 from eighteen mattress listings across sixteen sellers. Every fire barrier, fiberglass, certificate and off-gassing statement was read from the seller's own product, FAQ or certifications page that day and quoted as written; where a site blocked our read (Silk and Snow, Endy's and Casper's help centres, National Mattress) the cell says "snippet" and carries Google's indexed excerpt of that page, or "not readable". Certificate scope comes from the programs themselves: the CertiPUR-US FAQ and 2025 technical guidelines, UL's GREENGUARD criteria table, the OEKO-TEX Standard 100 page, Control Union's GOLS standard, GOTS key features, and the MADE SAFE and eco-INSTITUT program pages. Regulations are quoted from Justice Laws (SOR/2016-183, SOR/2025-270, the Textile Labelling and Advertising Regulations and the Canada Consumer Product Safety Act), Cornell LII and the CPSC for 16 CFR 1633 and 1632, and the California Legislature for AB 1059 and SB 1019. Health Canada's formaldehyde figures are from its residential indoor air quality guideline. Hamuq figures come from Hamuq's product data and published guides, including the things Hamuq does not print. The People Also Ask questions were captured from Google Canada on the same day. No review counts or star ratings are cited anywhere in this article.
Certified organic, wool barrier, Canadian coils, under $2,000
Hamuq Organic Hybrid, $1,999 CAD queen and $1,249 twin: GOTS organic cotton, New Zealand wool fire barrier, GOLS Dunlop latex, micro coils and a 9 in Canadian steel pocket coil base. No fibreglass, no chemical flame retardants, a 120-night trial with courier pickup, and a 15-year warranty.
About the authors
Reviewer safeguard: This article does not use reviewedBy markup or present anyone as a credentialed product reviewer. Hamuq Inc. sells the two Hamuq mattresses discussed here, which is why every Hamuq statement is quoted from its product data, every competitor statement carries its source and date, the things Hamuq does not print are listed, and no star ratings appear.
Sources
- Justice Laws, Mattresses Regulations SOR/2016-183 (CAN/CGSB-4.2 No. 27.7 cigarette test)
- Canada Gazette, Prohibition of Certain Toxic Substances Regulations, 2025 (SOR/2025-270)
- Justice Laws, Canada Consumer Product Safety Act, Schedule 2 (TCEP foam item)
- Justice Laws, Textile Labelling and Advertising Regulations (mattress filling exemption, section 38)
- Competition Bureau, guide to labelling stuffed or filled textile articles
- Health Canada, Residential Indoor Air Quality Guideline: Formaldehyde
- Health Canada, Formaldehyde in the indoor environment (off-gassing duration)
- Health Canada, industry guide to futon and mattress flammability requirements
- 16 CFR 1633.3, open-flame test criteria (US) and 16 CFR 1632.2, cigarette test (US)
- US Consumer Product Safety Commission, 16 CFR Part 1633 questions and answers
- California Legislature, AB 1059 (textile fiberglass ban) and SB 1019 (flame retardant labelling)
- CertiPUR-US, frequently asked questions ("We only certify flexible polyurethane foam") and foam supplier listing, VPC Group (Vitafoam)
- UL, GREENGUARD certification criteria for furniture and mattresses
- OEKO-TEX, Standard 100
- Control Union, Global Organic Latex Standard and GOTS key features
- MADE SAFE program and eco-INSTITUT label
- Hamuq, The Organic Hybrid Mattress product page, The Original Hybrid Mattress product page and organic mattress certifications explained
- NapLab, Hamuq Original review (7-day off-gassing; commission disclosed) and NapLab, list of mattresses with fiberglass
- Endy, The Endy Mattress and The Endy Hybrid
- Douglas, Original mattress and Douglas homepage (CertiPUR-US statement)
- Juno, Juno Mattress
- Logan and Cove, Choice mattress
- Casper Canada, The Casper and Casper (US), Do Casper mattresses have fiberglass?
- Polysleep, The Polysleep Mattress
- Costco Canada, Novaform SoFresh 25.4 cm foam mattress
- Sleep Country Canada, Bloom mattresses
- Avocado Green Mattress Canada, certifications
- Naturepedic Canada, EOS Classic and Latex-Free Serenade
- Obasan, The Essential 8 organic mattress (GOLS and GOTS scope certificates)
- Essentia, Beyond Organic standard and tests and certifications
- Fawcett Mattress, fire retardants in mattresses (Joma wool barrier)
- Resthouse, Kakun organic mattresses
- fiberglassfree.com, record of Silk and Snow's Canadian fire sleeve statement (March 26, 2024)
