Polysleep vs Douglas (2026): Where They Are Made, Price and the Trial
Canadian buyer guide, updated September 11, 2026
Polysleep vs Douglas (2026): Where They Are Made, Price and the Trial
Both sell all-foam mattresses and both say they are made in Canada. Polysleep names Montreal. Douglas names no province. Here is what each one publishes, price by price and clause by clause.
Short answer
Polysleep or Douglas: which is the better Canadian-made mattress?
Quick answer: Douglas for the lower price and the longer trial, Polysleep for a named Canadian factory city and a foam perimeter support frame. In queen, the Douglas Original is $799 CAD against $1,375.95 CAD for the Polysleep Mattress, and Douglas's trial is 365 nights with a 21-night minimum against Polysleep's 100 nights with a 45-night minimum, on each brand's own pages on September 11, 2026.
On origin, the two claims are worded differently. Polysleep states its mattresses are produced in Montreal. Douglas states its mattresses are crafted in Canadian factories from Canadian foams and fabrics, and gives an Edmonton head office address, but names no factory province. This guide quotes both exactly rather than filling the gap.
Before you buy
Five questions that decide Polysleep vs Douglas
1. Does the factory city matter to you
Polysleep names Montreal. Douglas says Canadian factories without naming where.
2. What is your queen budget
Douglas foam runs $799 to $1,299 CAD in queen. Polysleep runs $795 to $2,599.95 CAD.
3. Do you want coils
Douglas sells three hybrids. Every Polysleep mattress read is all foam.
4. How long a trial
Douglas gives 365 nights after a 21-night minimum. Polysleep gives 100 nights after a 45-night minimum.
5. Have you returned a mattress before
Both limit returns to one per household; Douglas's limit covers every GoodMorning.com brand.
Where Polysleep and Douglas say their mattresses are made
Both brands lead with Canadian manufacturing, so it is worth reading exactly what each says. The table quotes the wording on each seller's own site on September 11, 2026.
| Brand | What the site says | City or province named | Address shown |
|---|---|---|---|
| Polysleep | "Our mattresses are produced in Montreal, Canada" and "entirely made in Canada" | Montreal, Quebec | Montreal, Quebec |
| Douglas | "Crafted in Canadian factories" using "Canadian foams and fabrics" | None named for manufacturing | Edmonton, Alberta head office |
| Hamuq, for reference | Original Hybrid foams produced in Ontario | Ontario | Not applicable |
The practical reading is that both brands make a Canadian manufacturing claim on their own pages, and Polysleep's is the more specific. Douglas's Edmonton address is a head office, not a stated factory location, so this guide does not describe Douglas as made in any particular province.
What "made in Canada" does and does not tell you
A Canadian manufacturing claim is useful, but it answers a narrower question than many buyers assume. It tells you where the mattress was assembled or produced. It does not, on its own, tell you where every component came from, how the foam was tested, or how long the mattress will last. That is why this guide quotes each brand's wording exactly rather than grading the claims.
Read the two statements side by side and the difference is one of detail rather than of truth. Polysleep names a city, Montreal, and says its mattresses are entirely made in Canada. Douglas says its mattresses are crafted in Canadian factories and that it uses Canadian foams and fabrics, which is a claim about materials as well as assembly, but it does not say where those factories are. Neither statement is contradicted by anything on the other brand's site, and neither brand publishes a third-party certification of the claim on the pages read.
If origin is a deciding factor for you, three practical steps help. Ask the seller which city the mattress you are ordering is produced in, and keep the answer in writing. Check whether the claim covers the whole mattress or only the foam or cover. And compare the claims that can be checked, such as foam density, which Polysleep publishes, and comfort layer thickness, which both publish, rather than relying on the flag alone. The best mattress in Canada guide sets out other checks that apply to any brand.
Polysleep and Douglas lineups by queen price
Polysleep sells six adult mattresses, all foam, from the Sierra to the Zephyr. Douglas sells three foam mattresses and three hybrids. Queen prices below are regular prices from each seller's product data.
| Mattress | Type | Firmness options | Queen price CAD |
|---|---|---|---|
| Polysleep Sierra | Foam, 9 in | One | $795 |
| Douglas Original | Foam, 10 in | Medium-firm | $799 |
| Douglas Original Hybrid | Hybrid, 12 in | Medium-firm | $949 |
| Polysleep Origin | Foam | One | $995 |
| Douglas Alpine | Foam, 11 in | Medium-firm | $999 |
| Douglas Alpine Hybrid | Hybrid, 13 in | Medium-firm | $1,149 |
| Douglas Summit | Foam, 12 in | Medium-firm | $1,299 |
| Polysleep Luna | Foam, 12 in | One | $1,375 |
| Polysleep Mattress | Foam, 10 in | Semi-firm or firm | $1,375.95 |
| Douglas Summit Hybrid | Hybrid, 14 in | Medium-firm, plusher top | $1,449 |
| Polysleep Aura | Foam | Semi-firm or firm | $1,795 to $1,899.95 |
| Polysleep Zephyr | Foam | Semi-firm or firm | $2,599.95 |
Two points stand out. Polysleep's Sierra at $795 and Douglas's Original at $799 are the entry points and cost almost the same. And Polysleep has no coil mattress in the lineup read, so a buyer who wants a hybrid is choosing between Douglas and another brand, not Polysleep. The Douglas range itself is broken down in the Douglas mattress review.
The flagship foams head to head: Polysleep Mattress vs Douglas Original
Each brand's named mattress is the most direct comparison. Both are 10 in all-foam beds, and both publish their layers.
| Feature | Polysleep Mattress | Douglas Original |
|---|---|---|
| Queen price CAD | $1,375.95 semi-firm, $1,375 firm | $799 |
| Height | 10 in | 10 in |
| Layers | 3 layers, 4 foam types | 3 foam layers |
| Comfort layer | 2.5 in open cell viscoelastic hybrid foam, 3.0 lb/ft3, ISO 20743 antimicrobial | 2 in ecoLight cooling gel foam |
| Transition | 2 in foam, 1.8 lb/ft3 | Described, thickness not stated on the page read |
| Support | 5.5 in foam, 2.1 lb/ft3, with a foam perimeter support frame | High-density support foam |
| Firmness | Semi-firm or firm | Medium-firm only |
| Queen weight | About 72 lb, semi-firm, from Polysleep's shipping data | Not clearly published |
| Cover | Not stated as removable on the page read | Removable, machine-washable |
Polysleep publishes foam densities, which few brands do and which is a genuine point in its favour: density is one of the better indicators of how foam holds up. Douglas publishes the comfort layer thickness and a washable cover. Neither publishes an edge or durability test. The general trade-offs between foam and coils are in memory foam vs hybrid.
Polysleep vs Douglas prices at every size
| Size | Polysleep Sierra | Polysleep Mattress | Douglas Original | Douglas Original Hybrid | Hamuq Original Hybrid |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Twin | $695 | $899.95 | $599 | $749 | $799 |
| Twin XL | Not offered | $999.95 | $649 | $799 | $879 |
| Full or Double | $745 | $1,199.95 to $1,299.95 | $699 | $849 | $899 |
| Queen | $795 | $1,375 to $1,375.95 | $799 | $949 | $999 |
| King | $895 | $1,599.95 | $899 | $1,049 | $1,189 |
At list price, the Douglas Original is less expensive than the Polysleep Mattress at every size, by $576.95 in queen. The Polysleep Sierra matches Douglas on price and is the budget Canadian-made foam option if a named factory city matters to you. How much a queen should cost is covered in how much to spend on a mattress.
Polysleep vs Douglas trial terms
The trials are where the two differ most. Everything below is taken from Polysleep's Canadian refund policy and Douglas's return policy and sleep trial page, read on September 11, 2026.
| Term | Polysleep | Douglas | Hamuq |
|---|---|---|---|
| Trial length | 100 nights | 365 nights | 120 nights |
| Minimum before returning | 45 nights | 21 nights | 30 nights |
| Return limit | One return per household | One trial per household across Douglas, Juno, Logan and Cove and Octave | Not limited on the policy page read |
| Excluded | Wholesale partners; no trial on the bed foundation, toppers or protector | Contest mattresses refunded without money back | Not stated |
| Bed frames | No trial on the Polysleep foundation | Adjustable Bed 120 nights | Covered by the 120-night trial |
Douglas's 365 nights and 21-night minimum are both more generous than Polysleep's 100 nights and 45-night minimum. The catch on the Douglas side is the household rule: a previous return to any GoodMorning.com brand can use up your trial. Polysleep's warranty page is hosted on a separate help site and was not read in full for this guide, so no Polysleep warranty figure is quoted here; ask Polysleep for the terms before buying. The wider question of trial length is in mattress sleep trials in Canada.
Which is the better buy
For most buyers, Douglas: its Original costs $576.95 less than the Polysleep Mattress in queen, it has a trial more than three times as long with a shorter minimum, and it offers hybrids Polysleep does not. Polysleep is the better choice for buyers who want a named Canadian factory city, published foam densities, a choice of semi-firm or firm in its main model, or the lowest-priced Canadian foam in the Sierra.
If you want coils and a mattress sold with a bed frame trial as well, the Hamuq Original Hybrid is $999 CAD in queen with a 120-night trial that also covers bed frames. Hamuq vs Douglas covers that comparison.
Hamuq product context
The hybrid Hamuq makes
The Hamuq Original Hybrid is $999 CAD in queen and $1,189 CAD in king, medium-firm at 6 out of 10 on Hamuq's own scale, on a 9 in double tempered zoned pocket coil unit. It ships free in 2 to 7 business days, carries a 120-night trial with a 30-night minimum and a 15-year warranty covering indentations over 1 in. Prices read from Hamuq product data on September 11, 2026.
Hamuq Inc. sells mattresses that compete with Polysleep and Douglas. Every figure for them is taken from their own pages and linked in the sources; no review counts, star ratings or third-party scores are cited for any brand.
Polysleep or Douglas finder
Pick the card that sounds like you
Open your route. Every answer here is also in the tables above, so nothing depends on the card.
1 I want the lowest price and the longest trial
Your route: the Douglas Original. $799 CAD in queen with 365 nights after a 21-night minimum.
2 I want a mattress made in a named Canadian city
Your route: Polysleep. Polysleep states its mattresses are produced in Montreal. The Sierra is $795 CAD in queen; the Polysleep Mattress is $1,375.95.
3 I want coils
Your route: Douglas, not Polysleep. Douglas sells three hybrids from $949 CAD in queen. Every Polysleep mattress read was all foam.
4 I want a hybrid and a trial that covers the bed frame too
Your route: compare the Hamuq Original Hybrid. $999 CAD in queen, 120 nights covering mattress and frame.
This finder is a guide to what each seller publishes, not a sleep test.
Supplementary Hamuq product context
Hamuq owner and product Shorts
These Shorts from the Hamuq channel show owners with the Hamuq Original Hybrid. They are context for the Hamuq side only and are not evidence for any Polysleep or Douglas figure in this guide.
Buyer questions
Polysleep vs Douglas FAQs for Canadian buyers
These are the questions Canadian searchers see under this topic, answered first and short.
Origin and brand
Is Polysleep a Canadian company?
Quick answer: Yes, by its own description. Polysleep's site states its mattresses are produced in Montreal, Canada, describes them as entirely made in Canada, and lists a Montreal, Quebec address.
Where are Douglas mattresses made?
Quick answer: Douglas states its mattresses are crafted in Canadian factories using Canadian foams and fabrics. It does not name the factory city or province on the pages read on September 11, 2026. Its listed address is a head office in Edmonton, Alberta, which is not a stated factory location.
What is the best Canadian made bed?
Quick answer: It depends which claim you want verified. Polysleep names Montreal as its production city; Douglas says Canadian factories without a location; Hamuq states its Original Hybrid foams are produced in Ontario. Compare the wording on each seller's own page, not a badge.
Who owns Douglas?
Quick answer: GoodMorning.com Inc., according to Douglas's own return policy and warranty, which name GoodMorning.com as the company behind Douglas, Juno, Logan and Cove and Octave.
Price and models
Are Douglas mattresses the best?
Quick answer: No mattress is best for everyone, and this guide cites no ratings. On what each brand publishes, Douglas is cheaper than Polysleep's named mattress at every size and has a far longer trial, while Polysleep publishes foam densities and names its production city.
What are the top 5 mattresses in Canada?
Quick answer: Hamuq does not publish a ranked top five, because rankings usually rest on ratings or affiliate scores this guide will not cite. A fairer shortlist compares published price, trial and warranty; for Canadian-made all-foam, the Douglas Original at $799 and the Polysleep Sierra at $795 in queen are the entry points.
Which is cheaper, Polysleep or Douglas?
Quick answer: Douglas, comparing named mattresses: the Douglas Original is $799 CAD in queen against $1,375.95 for the Polysleep Mattress. Polysleep's cheapest model, the Sierra, is $795 in queen, level with the Douglas Original, on September 11, 2026.
Does Polysleep make a hybrid mattress?
Quick answer: Not in the lineup read on September 11, 2026. All six Polysleep adult mattresses, the Sierra, Origin, Luna, Polysleep, Aura and Zephyr, are listed as memory foam. Douglas sells three hybrids from $949 CAD in queen.
Trial and returns
How long is the Polysleep trial?
Quick answer: 100 nights, with returns accepted after the first 45 nights, and a limit of one return per household. Polysleep offers no trial on its bed foundation, toppers or mattress protector, and wholesale partners are excluded.
How long is the Douglas trial?
Quick answer: 365 nights from delivery, with returns accepted from night 21. It is one trial per household across Douglas, Juno, Logan and Cove and Octave, and returns are free with no restocking fee.
Which has the stricter return rules, Polysleep or Douglas?
Quick answer: Polysleep on timing: 45 nights minimum and 100 in total, against Douglas's 21 and 365. Douglas on eligibility: its one-trial rule covers four brands, so an earlier return to any of them counts.
Is the Polysleep firm cheaper than the semi-firm?
Quick answer: Almost identical in queen: $1,375 firm against $1,375.95 semi-firm for the Polysleep Mattress. In full the firm is $100 more, at $1,299.95 against $1,199.95, on Polysleep's product data on September 11, 2026.
How we know this
This guide was built on September 11, 2026. Polysleep prices, firmness options and shipping weights come from Polysleep's product data on polysleep.ca, layers and densities from the Polysleep Mattress product page, origin statements from the Polysleep home page, and trial terms from Polysleep's Canadian refund policy. Douglas prices, layers and trial terms come from douglas.ca product pages, return policy and sleep trial page, and its origin statement from its Made in Canada page. Polysleep's warranty was not read in full and is not quoted. The FAQ questions are ones Canadian shoppers commonly search on Google, recorded the same day. No review counts, star ratings or third-party test scores are cited for any brand.
Want coils instead of all foam?
The Hamuq Original Hybrid from $799 CAD in twin and $999 CAD in queen, medium-firm on a 9 in zoned pocket coil unit, with free delivery in 2 to 7 business days, a 120-night trial and a 15-year warranty.
About the authors
Hamuq Inc. competes with Polysleep and Douglas, which is why every figure for them is quoted from their own pages and linked below.
Sources
- Polysleep, home page, Montreal production and made in Canada statements
- Polysleep, Polysleep Mattress product page, layers and densities
- Polysleep, Canadian refund policy, 100-night trial and 45-night minimum
- Douglas, Made in Canada page, Canadian factories statement
- Douglas, Douglas Original product page
- Douglas, Original Hybrid product page
- Douglas, return policy and household rule
- Hamuq, Original Hybrid product page
- Hamuq, return policy and 120-night trial
- Google Search results shown to a Canadian searcher for "polysleep vs douglas", September 11, 2026, used to record common search questions
